Asus motherboards and USB boot

I’m writing this mainly for google’s benefit. If you’re trying to get an ASUS motherboard, such as the M3N78-VM I have, to boot from a memory stick, it turns out you have to do it in a weird way: turn on the PC with the memory stick plugged in, go into BIOS Setup and the Boot section and then go onto Hard Disk Drives. Delete all the entries except USB (maybe you can just put it to the top, I didn’t try). Now you can go to the normal Boot Device Priority list, and “USB” will be an entry which you can put where you like.

This is all pretty counterintuitive, because the boot device list has “Removable media” as an entry, which is apparently useless – in fact, worse than useless, or I might have worked this out faster. Hopefully writing about it will save others from wasting time ..

In other news, since here am I writing.. I finished my degree in music & music technology recently (which is why i finally have time to fix my computer), it’s been a fun ride and I achieved a bunch of things I always have wanted to do, like mixing for bad metal bands, writing and recording crazy dub tunes and playing sounds too quiet for anyone to hear in a gallery with some free wine. After a summer getting some programaction done (more on that later), mi novia y yo are going to South America for a while. We fly in to Buenos Aires in September and out of Lima in January (hopefully later) and so far that is the plan, I’ve never been out the UK for more than a few weeks before, i am really looking forward finally to some proper travelling in a very beautiful part of the world.

12 thoughts on “Asus motherboards and USB boot

  1. ASUS boot
    Interesting. On my asus laptop, 2 netbooks and nettop you hit escape which gives you a boot menu and as long as the device is plugged in on power on (or the hardware reset if your rebooting) the device comes up in the boot menu list if its detected for me. That’s 4 different devices.

  2. I’m kind of thinking I’d like to catch up with you! Drop me an email, I’m jon at jon atkinson dot co dot uk.
    –Jon

  3. Thank you, this really saved my time. ASUS M3A – same thing: go first to “Storage Configuration” delete everything else then you can select from Boot Device Priority List.

  4. You can just make the USB drive the first in the list, with the regular hard drives second. What a stupid way to run things…

  5. Thanks. I’m upgrading my mom’s HDD to SATA and will be restoring from a disk image to move the drive, but I will be using a USB drive and USB stick in the process. While I have the actual CD, I wanted to Challenge myself.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.