Pretty view from my windows

Springtime is here in the win32 world. First GCC 4.4.0 and now MSYS 1.0.11. There’s magic in the air. And a few nights ago I built gtk+ completely from source on Windows using jhbuild, mingw and MSYS.

I tried to repeat this yesterday using gcc 4.4.0 instead of gcc 3.4.5, and this caused many new problems 🙂 I’ve just about run out of time to fix them up for now, so I thought I would present my findings as they are. I wrote up a nice set of instructions which live at http://afuera.me.uk/jhbuild-windows/. They have worked for me with gcc 3.4.5 and are very close to working with gcc 4.4.0. There are various pitfalls, but all the ones I have come across are documented and hacked around. So take it for a spin!! .. I will happily accept more/improved -windows modulesets, fixes for the various things I’ve had to hack around, or any sort of drugs that might help me recover from the mental trauma.

I have also started work on an MS Windows registry backend for GSettings .. my SOC stuff has been neglected recently while I’ve been away, but I think with a few days of solid effort it’s all going to start really coming together. It’s going to be exciting to start converting some apps and tearing out big chunks of newly-redundant code 🙂

About Sam Thursfield

Who's that kid in the back of the room? He's setting all his papers on fire! Where did he get that crazy smile? We all think he's really weird.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

