Autohell, part 995

  • I’m putting in a little time today on my windows branch of jhbuild. Running git now works (using a .bat file to call MSYSgit in its own shell, it’s all messy but works fine once it’s set up).
  • I spent the past hour or so wondering why ACLOCAL_FLAGS was being ignored. I finally realised that it’s not actually honoured by aclocal at all and never has been. autogen.sh scripts tend to execute aclocal $ACLOCAL_FLAGS which make it work often enough that I assumed it was meant to.

    Now I wonder whether autoreconf would accept a patch to make it honour $ACLOCAL_FLAGS, or if I should patch Pixman’s autogen.sh to call autoreconf $ACLOCAL_FLAGS .. and any others that don’t ..

  • Highlights of Glastonbury were definitely Blur, and a more obscure band called Edward II who I last saw aged about 12.

    Best wishes for everyone in Gran Canaria!

About Sam Thursfield

Who's that kid in the back of the room? He's setting all his papers on fire! Where did he get that crazy smile? We all think he's really weird.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Autohell, part 995

  1. Anonymous says:

    aclocal
    Almost every autotooled package (and the autotools themselves) use just $ACLOCAL to encompass the program and any flags needed. I.e., I use ACLOCAL=”aclocal -I/opt/gfx/share/aclocal” when building a local X stack. gnome-autogen.sh is the only one I know of that uses $ACLOCAL_FLAGS.
    Not the best, but that’s the typical usage. You’d probably need to write a patch for autoreconf if you wanted to change that and have it be consistent at all.

Leave a Reply

